Six RTPI members awarded fellowships by the Academy of Social Sciences

Written by: Ellie Kahn
Published on: 27 Oct 2020

Waheed Nazir

Six members of the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI) have been conferred the award of Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.

The academy is the UK’s representative body for social sciences, which includes geography, history and economics. It is made up of academics, societies and social science practitioners from the public and private sectors.

According to the academy, the six were among 73 UK social scientists to be elected as fellows of the academy for their “outstanding contributions to research, and for their application of social science to policy, education, society and the economy.”

The six RTPI members elected are:

  • Professor Claire Colomb, professor of urban studies and planning at University College London (UCL)
  • Professor Harry Dimitriou, director of OMEGA Centre of Mega Infrastructure and Development at UCL
  • Dr Peter Geraghty, executive director at Hertsmere Borough Council, and former RTPI president
  • Waheed Nazir (pictured above), chief executive at developer NCL Development and visiting professor at Birmingham City University
  • Professor John Pendlebury, professor of urban conservation at Newcastle University
  • Dr Richard Simmons, former chief executive of the Commission for Architecture and the Built Environment, and visiting professor at UCL

The Academy of Social Science said the new fellows were selected “following a robust review by their peers”.